CENTRAL FLORIDA - The Florida Highway Patrol is launching a new, state-wide crackdown aimed at enforcing the state's move over law.
On a multilane road, the move over law requires drivers to move out of the lane nearest an emergency vehicle that has its lights flashing alongside the road. If the driver is on a two-lane road, or can't move over a lane, then the driver must slow down to 20 mph below the posted speed limit.
FHP Trooper David Rodriguez was writing a ticket alongside the road one year ago when he was struck by a driver who didn't move over. Rodriguez hasn't returned to work.
Some drivers told WFTV's Racquel Asa that they always try to move over.
"I try to slow down and move over as much as I can, just to give them some room," said driver Scott Morgan.
FHP troopers said it's difficult for a trooper working a traffic stop alone to go after another car that doesn't bother to obey the move over law.
Because troopers working in pairs improve chances of catching those violators, FHP will send troopers out in pairs during the month of January in an effort to catch those who disregard the law.
Violating the move over law can mean a $134 ticket and three points on a driver's license.
READ: Florida's Move Over Law
FHP Troopers to crack down on move over law violators
Smoke from brush fire closes Beachline in Orange, Brevard counties
Hundreds of guns stolen from vehicles in Volusia County, officials say
Roads reopen after smoke from brush fire causes closures in Orange,…
Troopers: Fatal crash involving tractor-trailer closes WB I-4 ramp near Sanford