Florida House passes bill leading to term limits for county school board members

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. — The Florida House on Friday passed a bill that would lead to eight-year term limits for county school board members.

The Republican-controlled House voted 79-29 along almost-straight party lines to approve the bill (HB 477). Rep. Kevin Chambliss, D-Homestead, joined Republicans in voting for the bill, while Rep. Sam Killebrew, R-Winter Haven, voted against it.


Lawmakers last year passed a measure that included 12-year term limits for school board members.

But the bill, sponsored by Rep. Alex Rizo, R-Hialeah, would reduce that to eight years.

Read: Cool and rainy skies on Sunday, temps heat up toward end of week

The Senate Ethics and Elections Committee is scheduled Tuesday to take up the Senate version of the bill (SB 1110), which also includes eight-year term limits for county commissioners.

Read: Motorcyclist killed after crashing into minivan, deputies say

Click here to download the free WFTV news and weather apps, click here to download the WFTV Now app for your smart TV and click here to stream Channel 9 Eyewitness News live.