New Smyrna Beach swears in new mayor, 2 city commissioners

NEW SMRYNA BEACH , Fla. — The City of New Smyrna Beach officially has a new mayor and two new city commissioners after they were sworn in at a special meeting Nov 15.

Fred Cleveland was officially elected Nov. 8 but became mayor-elect in September when his opponent Spencer Hathaway dropped out of the race.


Read: Recovery, rebuilding underway in New Smyrna Beach

Newly elected commissioners Valli Perrine and Lisa Martin were both sworn in after winning their respective races in the citywide election and will now serve four-year terms.

During an oath of office ceremony, Cleveland said that after the COVID-19 pandemic and two recent weather incidents had battered the city, it was now the time to come together.

Read: Meteorologist working to improve hurricane forecasting, identify ‘worst-case’ intensity at landfall

“Hopefully meetings like this, incidents, time together like this, will help you heal a little bit as we try as your city leaders, this commission, as a unit, a unified body, to help put the pieces back together and to help contribute to your well-being and help you get back on the road to having a wonderful community again and get cleaned up and get ready to go,” Cleveland said.

The City Commission will host its first regular meeting of 2023 on Jan. 10.

Click here to download the free WFTV news and weather apps, click here to download the WFTV Now app for your smart TV and click here to stream Channel 9 Eyewitness News live.

Matt Reeser

Matt Reeser, WFTV.com

Matt Reeser joined WFTV in 1998 as a news photographer and has worked for television stations in Kentucky and West Virginia.