2022 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame welcomes newest members

LOS ANGELES — Dolly Parton, Eminem, Lionel Richie, Duran Duran and Eurythmics were among the artists honored Saturday night at the 2022 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame induction ceremony at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles.

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame first announced the inductees in May, which had been voted on by more than 1,000 artists, historians and music industry professionals, according to The Associated Press.

The induction categories include Performer, the Musical Excellence Award, the Early Influence Award and the Ahmet Ertegun Award:

Performer Category

  • Pat Benatar and Neil Giraldo
  • Duran Duran
  • Eminem
  • Eurythmics
  • Dolly Parton
  • Lionel Richie
  • Carly Simon

Musical Excellence Award

  • Judas Priest
  • Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis

Early Influence Award

  • Harry Belafonte
  • Elizabeth Cotten

Ahmet Ertegun Award

  • Allen Grubman
  • Jimmy Iovine
  • Sylvia Robinson

When nominees were announced in February, Parton initially resisted the honor and attempted to “respectfully bow out” of the process, according to AP. Parton said she didn’t want to take votes away from other nominees and felt she had not “earned that right.”

Parton later said that she accepted the invitation during an interview with NPR.

To be eligible for the Hall of Fame, artists must have released their first record 25 years before induction. Parton, Richie, Simon and Duran Duran were selected on their first go-round. Simon was a first-time nominee this year, more than 25 years after becoming eligible. Eminem becomes the 10th hip-hop act to be inducted, making the cut on his first ballot, according to the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame website.