Film Independent Spirit Awards 2021: See the complete list of winners

“Nomadland” was the big winner at the 2021 Film Independent Spirit Awards, the annual ceremony that many consider a possible Academy Awards preview.

Here is the complete list of winners from this year’s event, which was held virtually and mostly taped in advance amid the coronavirus pandemic:

>> Read more trending news

Best feature: “Nomadland”

Best director: Chloé Zhao, “Nomadland”

Best female lead: Carey Mulligan, “Promising Young Woman”

Best male lead: Riz Ahmed, “Sound of Metal”

Best supporting female: Yuh-Jung Youn, “Minari”

Best supporting male: Paul Raci, “Sound of Metal”

Best screenplay: Emerald Fennell, “Promising Young Woman”

Best editing: Chloé Zhao, “Nomadland”

Best documentary feature: “Crip Camp”

Best cinematography: Joshua James Richards, “Nomadland”

Best first feature: “Sound of Metal”

Best first screenplay: Andy Siara, “Palm Springs”

John Cassavetes Award: “Le Leyenda Negra”

Robert Altman Award: “One Night in Miami”

Best international film: “Quo Vadis, Aida?”

Producers Award: Gerry Kim

Someone to Watch Award: Ekwa Msangi, “Farewell Amor”

Truer Than Fiction Award: Elegance Bratton, “Pier Kids”

Best new scripted series: “I May Destroy You”

Best new nonscripted or documentary series: “Immigration Nation”

Best female performance (scripted): Shira Haas, “Unorthodox”

Best male performance (scripted): Amit Rahav, “Unorthodox”

Best ensemble cast (scripted): “I May Destroy You,” Michaela Coel, Paapa Essiedu, Weruche Opia and Stephen Wight

Read more here.