Golden Globes nominations announced but awards won’t be on TV

LOS ANGELES — The Hollywood Foreign Press Association announced the 2022 nominations for the 79th Annual Golden Globe Awards Monday. The awards, scheduled for Jan. 9, will not be broadcast on network television for the first time in recent history.

>> Read more trending news

Snoop Dogg joined HFPA president Helen Hoehne to announce the nominations, which had fewer outlets than normal in attendance to cover the announcement, Variety reported. Hoehne told Variety that COVID-19 was, in part, to blame for the low turnout.

NBC announced it would not air the Golden Globes in 2022 because of the lack of diversity on the board of the HFPA, the New York Times reported.

Here are the nominations:

Best Picture – Musical/Comedy


Don’t Look Up

Licorice Pizza

tick, tick…BOOM!

West Side Story

Best Actress – Motion Picture Drama

Jessica Chastain (The Eyes of Tammy Faye)

Olivia Colman (The Lost Daughter)

Nicole Kidman (Being the Ricardos)

Lady Gaga (House of Gucci)

Kristin Stewart (Spencer)

Best Actor – Motion Picture Drama

Mahershala Ali (Swan Song)

Javier Bardem (Being the Ricardos)

Benedict Cumberbatch (The Power of the Dog)

Will Smith (King Richard)

Denzel Washington (The Tragedy of Macbeth)

Best Actress – Motion Picture Musical/Comedy

Marion Cotillard (Annette)

Alana Haim (Licorice Pizza)

Jennifer Lawrence (Don’t Look Up)

Emma Stone (Cruella)

Rachel Zegler (West Side Story)

Best Actor – Motion Picture Musical/Comedy

Leonardy DiCaprio (Don’t Look Up)

Peter Dinklage (Cyrano)

Andrew Garfield (tick, tick…BOOM!)

Cooper Hoffman (Licorice Pizza)

Anthony Ramos (In the Heights)

Best Supporting Actress – Motion Picture

Caitriona Balfe (Belfast)

Ariana DeBose (West Side Story)

Kirsten Dunst (The Power of the Dog)

Aunjanue Ellis (King Richard)

Ruth Negga (Passing)

Best Supporting Actor – Motion Picture

Ben Affleck (The Tender Bar)

Jamie Dornan (Belfast)

Ciarán Hinds (Belfast)

Troy Kotsur (CODA)

Kodi Smit-McPhee (The Power of the Dog)

Best Director – Motion Picture

Kenneth Branagh (Belfast)

Jane Campion (The Power of the Dog)

Maggy Gyllenhaal (The Lost Daughter)

Steven Spielberg (West Side Story)

Dennis Villenueve (Dune)

Best Screenplay – Motion Picture

Paul Thomas Anderson (Licorice Pizza)

Kenneth Branagh (Belfast)

Jane Campion (The Power of the Dog)

Aaron Sorkin (Being the Ricardos)

Adam McKay (Don’t Look Up)

Best Picture – Animated




My Sunny Maad

Raya and the Last Dragon

Best Drama Series


The Morning Show


Squid Game


Best Musical/Comedy Series

The Great


Only Murders in the Building

Reservation Dogs

Ted Lasso

Best Television Motion Picture


Impeachment: American Crime Story


Mare of Easttown

The Underground Railroad

Best Actress – Television Motion Picture

Jessica Chastain (Scenes from a Marriage – TV)

Cynthia Erivo (Genius: Aretha)

Elizabeth Olsen (WandaVision)

Margaret Qualley (Maid)

Kate Winslet (Mare of Easttown)

Best Actor – Television Motion Picture

Paul Bettany (WandaVision)

Oscar Isaac (Scenes from a Marriage – TV)

Michael Keaton (Dopesick)

Ewan McGregor (Halston) Tahar Rahim (The Serpent)

Best Television Actress – Drama Series

Uzo Aduba (In Treatment)

Jennifer Aniston (The Morning Show)

Christine Baranski (The Good Fight)

Elisabeth Moss (The Handmaid’s Tale)

Michaela Jaé Rodriguez (Pose)

Best Television Actor – Drama Series

Brian Cox (Succession)

Lee Jung-jae (Squid Game)

Billy Porter (Pose)

Jeremy Strong (Succession)

Omar Sy (Lupin)

Best Television Actress – Musical/Comedy Series

Hannah Einbinder (Hacks)

Elle Fanning (The Great)

Issa Rae (Insecure)

Tracee Ellis Ross (Black-ish)

Jean Smart (Hacks)

Best Television Actor – Musical/Comedy Series

Anthony Anderson (Black-ish)

Nicholas Hoult (The Great)

Steve Martin (Only Murders in the Building)

Martin Short (Only Murders in the Building)

Jason Sudeikis (Ted Lasso)

Best Supporting Actress – Television

Jennifer Coolidge (The White Lotus)

Kaitlyn Dever (Dopesick)

Andie MacDowell (Maid)

Sarah Snook (Succession)

Hannah Waddingham (Ted Lasso)

Best Supporting Actor – Television

Billy Crudup (The Morning Show)

Kieran Culkin (Succession)

Mark Duplass (The Morning Show)

Brett Goldstein (Ted Lasso)

O Yeong-su (Squid Game)