ORLANDO, Fla. — The coronavirus pandemic is impacting all Floridians, but each county has control over its own emergency response.
Gov. Ron DeSantis has not issued a state-wide mask order, allowing local governments to make their own decisions.
Orders requiring face coverings in public spaces and businesses have been recognized by heath officials and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention as an effective way to help slow the spread of COVID-19.
Several counties and cities in Central Florida now have face covering mandates, and the list keeps growing.
All of these mandates contain exceptions. Those 2 years old or younger, those that have a health condition that would get worse if they wear a mask or have a job where you do not interact with the public are exempt.
Here’s where face coverings are required in Central Florida.
Osceola County leaders were the first to issue a face covering order on April 13. It has been in effect for nearly three months.
Orange County’s mask mandate went into effect on June 18 after it was announced by mayor Jerry Demings. The mandate requires that every person either working, living or visiting must wear a mask in public. The mandate also applies to Orlando, and all cities and towns inside the county.
It's been two weeks since Orange County's mask mandate went into effect, and despite the recent spike in cases, health officials said the mandate seems to be working.
There are also exemptions for employees and customers in some industries, including first response, government, health care utility providers and construction.
Daytona Beach started a mask mandate for residents and visitors on June 28, and New Smyrna Beach city leaders also approved a plan encouraging people to wear face masks in public on July 1.
Seminole County made face masks required in public on July 1. County leaders issued the mandate after the number coronavirus cases went up when businesses reopened.
DeLand issued a mask mandate on July 2. People, not covered by the exceptions, caught not wearing a face covering will have to pay a fine of $25 on the first offence and a fine of $100 after that.
Orange City leaders agreed to a city-wide mask mandate Monday night. The mandate is already in effect and includes a fine. The first time you’re caught without one will cost you $25, a second offense is $50. Any time after that is a $100 fine.
Cocoa Beach passed a face mask mandate that requires every person working, living, visiting or doing business in the city to wear a face covering in any indoor public location. There is no penalty for not wearing a face mask.
Deltona leaders passed a resolution that encourages people to wear a face mask when they cannot practice social distancing. The resolution is not a mandate and there is no penalty if people choose not to wear a face covering.
Mount Dora leaders passed a resolution requiring face masks in public starting July 10. They are the first city in Lake County to do so. The city is asking for voluntary compliance with the resolution.
Marion, Lake, Sumter, Flagler and Brevard counties have not issued any mask orders.
© 2020 Cox Media Group