Osceola County approves penalties, fines for residents without face coverings in public

OSCEOLA COUNTY, Fla. — Leaders in Osceola County have passed penalties for those who don’t adhere to its face mask mandate.

The penalty for a violation of the emergency ordinance is:

a. For a first offense, a warning.

b. For a second offense, a fine of $25.00

c. For a third and each subsequent offense, a fine of $50.00

d. All other remedies available at law or equity, including injunction, remain available to the County, even after issuance of a citation.

According to the ordinance, the exceptions for the rule are:

  • Children under the age of 2
  • Anyone for whom a face covering would cause impairment due to an existing health condition
  • Anyone working in a profession who do not have any face-to-face interactions with the public
  • Anyone working in a profession where use of a face covering will not be compatible with the duties of the profession
  • Anyone exercising, while observing social distancing in accordance with the CDC guidelines

Read: Which stores in Central Florida require face masks?

Osceola County was one of the first counties in Central Florida to require masks, but had no penalty in place when the mandate was implemented.

Daytona Beach has already begun to issue penalties by enforcing fines on residents who don’t comply with its mask mandate.

Read: Keeping track of Central Florida face mask mandates

If you’re caught without one on and you can’t explain why, residents said a fine will be issued.