DCF announces first disaster SNAP program after Ian, here’s how to register

ORLANDO, Fla. — Florida’s application for Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program has been approved, the Department of Children and Families announced Saturday.


This program will provide food assistance for individuals and families who have been impacted by Hurricane Ian and who don’t receive benefits from the regular SNAP program.

Read: SNAP benefits have risen; find out how much monthly payments are now

D-SNAP will be launched in a series of phases starting Monday, Oct. 10. Pre-registration is required.

The first phase will be a phone option.

Who is eligible?

  • Applicants must not be receiving regular SNAP benefits.
  • Those who were living or working in a disaster-declared county at the time of the hurricane
  • Suffered a disaster-related loss such as damage to homes, loss of food, reduction or loss in income or other disaster-related expenses
  • Meet financial eligibility requirements

Read: FEMA approves $150 million in disaster relief for Florida households, here’s how to apply

Things to know about the application process:

  • Phone times are based on the first letter of the applicant’s last name.
  • Residents who can’t pre-register online can visit in-person locations when they are open.
  • You can call the D-SNAP Call Center at 850-663-1919, open from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m. Eastern Time.

Read: How can Central Florida residents apply for FEMA’s Transitional Shelter Assistance?

What are the different phases?

PHASE ONE: Schedule by County

  • Online pre-registration will be open for Charlotte, Collier, DeSoto, Hardee, Lee, Sarasota and Polk counties from Monday, Oct. 10 at 12:01 a.m. through Sunday, Oct. 16 at 11:59 p.m.
  • Applicants in the Phase One Schedule must call the D-SNAP Call Center at 850-663-1919 between 7 a.m. and 5 p.m.
  • Last name begins with A-F: Call on Thursday, Oct. 13
  • Last name begins with G-N: Call on Friday, Oct. 14
  • Last name begins with O-Z: Call on Saturday, Oct. 15
  • Any last name: Call on Sunday, Oct. 16

PHASE TWO: Schedule by County

  • Counties: Flagler, Highlands, Manatee, Orange, Pinellas and St. Johns
  • Pre-Registration Dates: Monday, Oct. 17 - Sunday, Oct. 23
  • Telephone Dates: Thursday, Oct. 20 - Sunday, Oct. 23

PHASE THREE: Schedule by County

  • Counties: Hillsborough, Lake, Osceola, Putnam, Seminole, and Volusia
  • Pre-Registration Dates: Monday, Oct. 24 - Sunday, Oct. 30
  • Telephone Dates: Thursday, Oct. 27 - Sunday, Oct. 30

Click here to learn more and click here for pre-registration.

Click here to download the free WFTV news and weather apps, click here to download the WFTV Now app for your smart TV and click here to stream Channel 9 Eyewitness News live.

Comments on this article