SEMINOLE COUNTY, Fla. — Drivers in Seminole County were being pulled over Wednesday if they were caught holding their cell phones while behind the wheel.
Florida’s new state law makes texting while driving a primary offense and prohibits drivers from holding cell phones in work and school zones.
Troopers and deputies pulled drivers over off E.E. Williamson Road to remind them of the safety risks of being on the phone while in those areas.
“Our goal is to try to prevent any type of tragedy in our community,” said Chief Dan Purcell of the Seminole County Sheriff’s Office.
If a driver is caught on the phone while in the designated areas in Seminole County, they could face a fine of $166.
Since the Wireless Communication Act took place in July 2019, troopers have stopped more than 1,500 drivers for texting and drivers on a state list. Seminole and Orange counties topped the list for having the most drivers penalized.
First time offenders caught using their phone outside of a work zone will face a penalty of $116 if caught.
“If you’re not paying attention and you start straying off the road, it’s a pretty serious thing,” said Steve Olson of the Florida Department of Transportation.
© 2020 Cox Media Group