Soul Train Awards 2021: Here is the list of winners

NEW YORK — Fifty years later, “Soul Train” is still the hippest trip in America.

>> PHOTOS: 2021 Soul Train Awards - Red Carpet Arrivals

On Sunday night, the 2021 Soul Train Awards celebrated 50 years of the music dance show started by the late Don Cornelius in October 1971. The ceremony was taped in Harlem on Nov. 20 at the Apollo Theater an aired on BET. Celebrities watched as Ashanti was honored as the Lady of Soul, while Maxwell was given the Living Legend Award.

>> Read more trending news

“‘Soul Train’ has meant darn near everything to me over the years,” El DeBarge told Essence. “Thank God for Don Cornelius and his vision. Having DeBarge on ‘Soul Train’ as many times as he did -- because we didn’t have many videos out -- back then, Don kept us visual. So, thank you, ‘Soul Train.’”

Cornelius, who hosted the show from 1971 to 1993, died in 2012.

Bruno Mars, Anderson .Paak and Silk Sonic were the big winners Sunday night, collaborating to win three awards for their hit, “Leave the Door Open”: Song of the Year, Video of the Year and the Ashford and Simpson Songwriter’s Award.

Jazmine Sullivan scored two awards, taking Album of the Year for “Heaux Tales” and Best R&B/Soul Female Artist. Giveon was the winner in the Best R&B/Soul Male Artist category.

Here is the list of nominees and winners. The winners are listed in bold.

Song of the Year

Winner: Bruno Mars, Anderson .Paak (Silk Sonic) – “Leave the Door Open”

Blxst featuring Ty Dolla $Ign & Tyga – “Chosen”

H.E.R. – “Damage”

Jazmine Sullivan – “Pick Up Your Feelings”

Wizkid featuring Tems – “Essence”

Yung Bleu featuring Drake – “You’re Mines Still”

Album of the Year

Winner: Jazmine Sullivan - “Heaux Tales”

Blxst – “No Love Lost”

Doja Cat - “Planet Her”

Giveon - “When It’s All Said and Done … Take Time”

H.E.R. - “Back of My Mind”

Wizkid - “Made in Lagos”

Video of the Year

Winner: Bruno Mars, Anderson .Paak (Silk Sonic) – “Leave the Door Open”

Chris Brown, Young Thug featuring Future, Lil Durk, Latto – “Go Crazy (Remix)”

H.E.R. – “Damage”

Jazmine Sullivan – “Pick Up Your Feelings”

Normani featuring Cardi B – “Wild Side”

Wizkid featuring Tems – “Essence”

Best R&B/Soul Female Artist

Winner: Jazmine Sullivan

Doja Cat


Jhené Aiko


Best R&B/Soul Male Artist

Winner: Giveon


Chris Brown

Lucky Daye



Best Collaboration

Winner: Wizkid featuring Tems – “Essence”

Chris Brown, Young Thug featuring Future, Lil Durk, Latto – “Go Crazy (Remix)”

Doja Cat featuring SZA – “Kiss Me More”

H.E.R. featuring Chris Brown – “Come Through”

Jazmine Sullivan featuring H.E.R. – “Girl Like Me”

Yung Bleu featuring Drake – “You’re Mines Still”

Best New Artist

Winner: Yung Bleu


Capella Grey



Tone Stith

Certified Soul Award

Winner: Charlie Wilson

Anthony Hamilton


The Isley Brothers

Jam & Lewis


Best Dance Performance

Winner: Normani featuring Cardi B - “Wild Side”

Chloe X Halle – “Ungodly Hour”

Chris Brown, Young Thug – “City Girls”

Lizzo featuring Cardi B – “Rumors”

Usher – “Bad Habits”

Best Gospel/Inspirational Award

Winner : Kirk Franklin

Brian Courtney Wilson

James Fortune

Kelly Price

Maverick City Music

Tasha Cobbs Leonard

The Ashford and Simpson Songwriter’s Award

Winner: “Leave the Door Open” - written by: Bruno Mars, Brandon Anderson, Dernst Emile Ii, Christopher Brody Brown (Bruno Mars, Anderson .Paak, Silk Sonic)

”Can’t Let It Show” - written by: Kate Bush, Durrell Babbs (Tank)

”Come Through” - written by: Carl Mccormick, Chris Brown, H.E.R., Kelvin Wooten, Michael L. Williams Ii, Tiara Thomas (H.E.R. Feat. Chris Brown)

“Damage” - written by: Anthony Clemons Jr., Carl Mccormick, H.E.R., James Harris, Jeff Gitelman, Terry Lewis, Tiara Thomas (H.E.R.)

“Essence” - written by: Ayodeji Ibrahim Balogun, Oniko Eddie Uzezi, Oniko Evawero, Richard Isong, Temilade Openiyi (Wizkid Feat. Tems)

”Pick Up Your Feelings” - written by: Blue June, Chi, Audra Mae Butts, Jazmine Sullivan, Kyle Coleman, Michael Holmes (Jazmine Sullivan)