What you need to know about Florida’s loud music law

ORLANDO, Fla. — If you like blasting your car stereo, you’re going to want to make sure it isn’t too loud from now on.


Florida’s loud music law goes into effect on Friday, making blaring music will be a punishable offense.

If your music can be heard more than 25 feet away from your vehicle, you might get a ticket.

READ: Florida rapper SpotemGottem arrested after jet ski chase, police say

Twenty-five feet is about the length of five park benches or almost two car lengths.

Law enforcement officers can use their speed gun to determine the distance out in the field. They can also use body camera footage as proof.

“We are going to err on the side of giving you more distance than not. One car length is about 15 feet,” said Sgt. Gerald McDaniels.

READ: Florida police to start ticketing drivers for loud music on July 1

It doesn’t matter if you’re moving or parked. The fine is $114.

If you do it in front of a church, school or hospital, you could be slapped with a misdemeanor for disturbing the peace or a disorderly conduct charge.

The statute applies statewide.

READ: Brightline high-speed rail station at Disney Springs nixed. Here’s why.

There was a similar law on the books back in 2012 but it was deemed unconstitutional because it allowed louder music for business or political purposes.

Now, the law applies to everyone in the same way.

Click here to download the free WFTV news and weather apps, click here to download the WFTV Now app for your smart TV and click here to stream Channel 9 Eyewitness News live.

Q Mccray

Q McCray, WFTV.com

Q McCray is an award-winning general assignment reporter.