FLORIDA — Starting on July 1, days before the Fourth of July holiday, Florida police will start ticketing people for loud music.
According to WJAX, the Florida statute controlling radio volume once again becomes enforceable on July 1 and will be enforced statewide. Basically, police will start ticketing drivers for playing their music too loud when on the road.
The statute says that “it’s unlawful if the sound coming from a motor vehicle is plainly audible from 25 feet or more, or louder than necessary for convenient hearing in areas with churches, schools, or hospitals,” according to WJAX.
Tickets could cost about $114, since it’s a noncriminal traffic infraction that is punishable just as a nonmoving violation, according to WJAX.
©2022 Cox Media Group