Proposed legislation to reduce red-light camera fines in Florida

FLORIDA — Three new bills concerning red-light cameras will be part of the new legislative session in Tallahassee next year.

Two of the bills will look at banning red-light cameras altogether. Another bill proposes reducing the cost of a red-light camera fine.

Drivers pay a $159 fine if caught on camera running a red light.

A senator in South Florida filed a bill that would reduce the fine to $50.

“It’s a slap on the hand but doesn’t kill people’s pockets,” said driver Bezeall Diaz.

The $50 fine would apply to anyone who gets a ticket for the first time. The driver also has the option of not paying the fine and instead taking a driver improvement course.

Some drivers told Channel 9's Racquel Asa that cutting the cost wouldn't make the cameras effective.

“I think it's a good lesson for people not to do that because it costs them more,” said driver Erica Magira.

The bill would also prevent drivers from getting their license suspended or getting their license plate withheld if the fine isn’t paid.

According to the state, more than 3,000 registrations were put on hold last year.