Seminole County firefighters honor 13 American soldiers killed in Kabul airport attack

SEMINOLE COUNTY, Fla. — Seminole County firefighters honored the 13 American soldiers that were killed in the Kabul airport attack.

The Seminole County Fire Department said its new firefighter recruit class added the names of the 13 fallen soldiers to the front of their helmet shields to honor them.

READ: Kabul airport attack: Last US planes leave Kabul

Thursday’s bombing occurred as thousands of people were trying to flee Afghanistan after the country’s recent takeover by the Taliban.

At least 20 service members were injured in the attack, said Pentagon Press Secretary John Kirby. Local officials said that more than 100 Afghans were killed in the explosions and dozens of others were injured.

The Department of Defense on Saturday released the names of the 13 military service members who were killed Thursday after an attack during evacuation operations at the Kabul airport.

READ: Kabul airport attack: Names released of military members killed in attack

A Navy sailor, an Army soldier and 11 Marines were killed in the attack. They include:

  • Sailor Maxton W. Soviak, 22, of Berlin Heights, Ohio.
  • Army Staff Sgt. Ryan C. Knauss, 23, of Corryton, Tennessee.

The 11 Marines killed include:

  • Staff Sgt. Darin T. Hoover, 31, of Salt Lake City, Utah.
  • Sgt. Johanny Rosariopichardo, 25, of Lawrence, Massachusetts.
  • Sgt. Nicole L. Gee, 23, of Sacramento, California.
  • Cpl. Hunter Lopez, 22, of Indio, California.
  • Cpl. Daegan W. Page, 23, of Omaha, Nebraska.
  • Cpl. Humberto A. Sanchez, 22, of Logansport, Indiana.
  • Lance Cpl. David L. Espinoza, 20, of Rio Bravo, Texas.
  • Lance Cpl. Jared M. Schmitz, 20, of St. Charles, Missouri.
  • Lance Cpl. Rylee J. McCollum, 20, of Jackson, Wyoming.
  • Lance Cpl. Dylan R. Merola, 20, of Rancho Cucamonga, California.
  • Lance Cpl. Kareem M. Nikoui, 20, of Norco, California.

READ: Young dad-to-be was among 13 US troops killed in Afghanistan

Katlyn Brieskorn,

Katlyn Brieskorn is a Digital Assignment Editor at WFTV. She joined Channel 9 in July 2019.