Results are in for special election to fill Orlando’s District 5 seat

ORLANDO, Fla. — Read live updates below:

7:31 p.m. update

Here are the results:

Shaniqua “Shan” Rose took the highest percentage of votes with 24.80%.


Voter turnout was about 10%.

Travaris McCurdy came in a close second with 23.29%.

Then came Ericka Dunlap with 21.60% and Lawanna Gelzer with 18.96%.

The votes separating McCurdy and Dunlap were 36.

If a Recount or Run-Off Election is needed, the Canvassing Board will call for it at the 9 a.m. Canvassing Board Meeting on Friday, May 24, 2024.

Under Florida law, this race is outside the recount.

7 p.m. update

Polls have closed in Orlando’s special election to fill the District 5 seat.

Channel 9 will have updates as soon as the results are in.

6:15 p.m. update

We’re just 45 minutes away from polls closing in Orlando’s special election Tuesday.

Seven people are seeking to fill the District 5 Orlando City Commissioner seat that was held by Regina Hill.

Florida Gov. Ron DeSantis suspended Hill after she was arrested on charges of fraud and elderly exploitation.

READ: These 7 candidates have qualified for Orlando’s District 5 election

The following candidates are running for the office:

  • Ericka Dunlap
  • Tiakeysha Ellison
  • Lawanna Gelzer
  • Cameron Hope
  • Travaris McCurdy
  • Miles Mulrain Jr.
  • Shanique “Shan” Rose

Polls will close at 7 p.m. Tuesday.

Channel 9 will update you with results as soon as they are available.

Earlier story:

Polls opened Tuesday morning for a special election in Orlando’s Fifth District..

Seven people are vying to fill the seat of District 5 Commissioner.

That seat was held by Regina Hill.

Earlier this year, Gov. Ron DeSantis suspended Hill after she was charged with fraud and elderly exploitation.

READ: Who is Regina Hill, the Orlando city commissioner who was arrested?

Voting will happen at a total of five polling places, which opened at 7 a.m. Tuesday.

District 5 residents can vote at their assigned polling location until 7 p.m.

To win the election, one of the candidates must get at least 50% plus one vote.

Otherwise, a runoff with the top two finishers of Tuesday’s race will happen on June 18.

The winner will serve on Orlando City Council through 2025 or until Hill’s case is resolved.

Residents eligible to vote are reminded to take a photo ID to their assigned polling place.

Stay with WFTV.com and watch Eyewitness News throughout the day for updates on the special election race.

Click here to download our free news, weather and smart TV apps. And click here to stream Channel 9 Eyewitness News live.

Jason Kelly

Jason Kelly, WFTV.com

Jason Kelly joined WFTV Channel 9 in 2014. He serves as the station's Digital Executive Producer.

Comments on this article