Gators, Seminoles won’t face off on the football field for the 1st time since 1958

ACC announces 11 game football schedule

ORLANDO, Fla. — For the first time since 1958, the University of Florida and Florida State University will not square off on the college football gridiron.

The Southeastern Conference, which the Florida Gators play in, announced its 2020 plan for college football, and it includes a 10-game conference only schedule.

Read: SEC will limit football season to conference schedule

Content Continues Below

So Florida will only play teams from within the SEC and the annual rivalry game will not be played in 2020.

"This new plan for a football schedule is consistent with the educational goals of our universities to allow for the safe and orderly return to campus of their student populations and to provide a healthy learning environment during these unique circumstances presented by the COVID-19 virus," SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey said.

A revised schedule for all of the SEC teams will be released at a future date.

“The safety of our student-athletes, staff and fans will remain the top priority as we navigate the return to collegiate athletic competition,” UF athletics director Scott Stricklin said. “We will continue to lean on the advice of the SEC Medical Task Force, UF Health, CDC, Campus and state health officials as we develop safety protocols and stadium capacity guidelines.”