D-SNAP: New counties added to line-up to apply for food assistance after Hurricane Ian

ORLANDO, Fla. — The Department of Children and Families (DCF) announced that the third phase of the Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (D-SNAP) will open tomorrow, Monday, for multiple Central Florida counties.


On Sunday, DCF Secretary Shevaun Harris said Lake, Osceola, Seminole, and Volusia counties will now be eligible to apply for benefits.

D-SNAP is continuously providing food assistance for individuals and families impacted by Hurricane Ian, who are not currently receiving food assistance benefits.

“The first two phases of D-SNAP have been highly successful with $69.7 million disbursed to more than 112,000 households,” said Harris. “The Department has been offering and encouraging families to use the phone option for their interview, and has hundreds of call center agents available each day to support these efforts.”

Read: D-SNAP: People affected by Hurricane Ian in these 2 counties can now apply for food assistance

D-SNAP is being implemented in phases by county all across the state of Florida.

Those who want to apply must pre-register.

Applicants are then required to attend a phone interview through the D-SNAP Call Center or by visiting a D-SNAP event for an on-site interview.

Read: DCF announces first disaster SNAP program after Ian, here’s how to register

For details on how to apply, visit MyFLFamilies.com/DSNAP.

Click here to download the free WFTV news and weather apps, click here to download the WFTV Now app for your smart TV and click here to stream Channel 9 Eyewitness News live.

Comments on this article