Orange County businesses could be fined up to $5,000 a day for repeat COVID-19 protocol violations

ORANGE COUNTY, Fla. — Orange County businesses could be fined up to $5,000 a day for repeat COVID-19 protocol violations, according to a draft plan released by the county on Thursday.

If approved, the draft plan, which Mayor Jerry Demings is set to discuss in a news conference on Friday, outlines the possible fines businesses could face if they did not uphold the expected protocols — ranging from mask-wearing to social distancing.

The plan states that business could be fined up to $500 for immediate citations, up to $1,000 a day for a first violation and up to $5,000 per day for repeat violations.

READ: Florida reports highest single-day COVID-19 case increase since July, adding more than 10,800 cases

The plan states that business could be fined up to $500 for immediate citations, up to $1,000 a day for a first violation and up to $5,000 per day for repeat violations.

If a special magistrate finds a violation that is deemed “irreparable” or “irreversible,” the plan states that a business can be given a fine up to $15,000 per violation.

On Thursday, Florida reported its largest single-day COVID-19 case increase since July, which included 573 new cases in Orange County.

READ: Report: Pfizer cut original COVID-19 vaccine target after supply-chain hurdles

Stay tuned to Channel 9 Eyewitness News for updates.

Sarah Wilson, WFTV.com

Sarah Wilson joined WFTV Channel 9 in 2018 as a digital producer after working as an award-winning newspaper reporter for nearly a decade in various communities across Central Florida.