• What do you need to know about the safety ratings of our new Toyota?


    Our new Toyota in Orlando are always receiving recognition for a variety of important factors, including value, reliability, and performance. One of the most crucial aspects of our new Toyota, however, is safety. How do you know how safe a vehicle is? Check the safety ratings!

    Every vehicle gets a safety rating from the Insurance Institute of Highway Safety (IIHS) and the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). Each of these independent institutions rate our new Toyota in Orlando to inform consumers about the level of safety they have to offer. Toyota of Orlando is breaking down what each of these safety ratings mean.


    What is the IIHS safety ratings of our new Toyota mean?

    Every year, the IIHS gives out awards to vehicles that are most safe for drivers. This helps drivers find a car that they can feel safe and secure in! To get this information, the IIHS evaluates cars in two aspects of safety:

    • Crash worthiness: This category is based on how well a vehicle protects passengers in the event of a crash. Each vehicle is put through five crash tests, including moderate overlap front, small overlap front, side, roof strength and head restraints. The vehicle is given a rating of good, acceptable, marginal or poor, based on their performance in these tests. Only vehicles that earn a good rating in these tests are named IIHS Top Safety Picks. 
    • Crash avoidance and mitigation: This category is based on the technology that our new Toyota have to help drivers avoid collisions and/or lesson the severity of a crash. The available front crash avoidance system in each vehicle is given a rating of basic, advanced or superior. A car must place in this category to become an IIHS Top Safety Pick+.

    We have a number of new Toyota and new Scion in Orlando that are IIHS Top Safety Picks for 2014, including the Toyota Camry, Scion tC and Scion FR-S. The Orlando Toyota Highlander and Toyota Prius were also named IIHS Top Safety Pick+! 

    Toyota of Orlando explains the NHTSA safety rating

    The NHTSA safety ratings are a bit different, showing consumers another side of vehicle safety. The NHTSA has set up a five star safety rating system, which rates our new Toyota in Orlando based on crash protection and rollover safety. This is tested using crash test dummies and simulated crashes to test how a vehicle fares during a frontal crashes, side crashes, and rollovers. The ratings for each test are then combines to create the Overall Vehicle Score. Many of our new Toyota in Orlando have earned a NHTSA 5-Star Safety Rating, including:

    • 2014 Toyota Camry
    • 2014 Toyota Corolla
    • 2014 Toyota Prius V
    • 2014 Toyota Highlander

    Learn more about safety ratings and the safety features our Toyota have to offer by visiting us at 3575 Vineland Rd. We’re located just off I-4 near the Mall at Millenia. You can also give us a call at (888) 725-3520 for more information about our cars or to schedule your visit. 


    Return Home